20 Female Directors To Look Out For

I pitched the idea for a staff post over on Audiences Everywhere – one where in the lead-up to the Oscars we make a list of women directors that have made interesting films in recent years. The rules were they had to have had a film out since 2010, and not have been nominated for an Academy Award. This had been on my mind since I found it surprisingly difficult to find female-directed films for my project to watch at least 52 films of that type in 2016 (the ongoing ranking can be found here).

I didn’t write all of the entries (the ones I did were #2, #14, #17, #18, and #20), but the diversity of selection and level of writing from the others involved is something I’m proud of.

Read the full list here

Leave a Reply

